jump to navigation

Repost: Humility of Imaam ibn Qudaamah November 26, 2012

Posted by istislaam in Ettiquettes and Mannerisms, Pearls of Wisdom.
trackback

Bismillaahi`r-Rahmaani`r-Raheem

Alhamdulillaah, wa`s-salaatu wa`s-salaamu ‘alaa rasoolillaah, wa ba’ad:

Humility of Imaam ibn Qudaamah

Preface from al-Waseeyyah

What you are about to read is the preface to the book al-Waseeyyah of Imaam ibn Qudaamah al-Maqdisee. Like it? Purchase this humble piece here.

Praise belongs to Allaah, Possessor of the Noble Face, Immense Bounty and timeless favour. May Allaah bless our master Muhammad, the Seal of the Prophets, and all his family.

One of my righteous brothers asked me to write some advice for him, but I refused after I realising that I do not enjoin on myself nor do what I ought to do!

Then it occurred to me that I ought to accede to his request, out of hope for the reward for satisfying the need of a brother Muslim and his prayer for me, and for the reward for his acting by my advice, so that I would be among those who guide people to good when I myself am unable to do it – and by directing people to it I will be like one who actually does it. Actions are judged by intentions. My success is only by Allaah, I have put my trust in Him and to Him I return.

– Muwaffaqu`d-Deen ibn Qudaamah al-Maqdisee, rahimahullaah.

Comments»

1. umm ibraahim - November 26, 2012

salaamualaykum i have this book and recommend it to all muslims,mashaAllah its very inspiring. may Allah reward iman al maqdisi. does admin know if this book was a summary in english of what is a much bigger text in arabic? or if there is similar texts available by the imam rahimahullah
jazakAllahu khayran

2. istislaam - November 26, 2012

wa ‘alaykumu`s-salaam wa rahmatullaah

I don’t know whether it’s a summary of a longer letter, sorry. There are no books similar to this that I am aware of, but you can look at this compilation..

http://kitaabun.com/shopping3/product_info.php?products_id=415

If I find anything else, I will post it here inshaa`allaah. Hope that helps.

umm ibraahim - November 27, 2012

funnily enough ive been trying to buy that book but its hard to get hold off in hardback. Anyway jazakAllah for your help.

istislaam - November 27, 2012

wa iyyak (this copy is in hardback in case I read your comment wrong)

umm ibraahim - November 28, 2012

yh i think its out of stock from there…they only have the arabic text not the translated.
i have only found in kalamullah in a pdf version..

istislaam - November 28, 2012

My mistake, sorry.. Another book worth buying before it runs out

http://kitaabun.com/shopping3/product_info.php?products_id=3991


Leave a comment